Registration is closed for this event

The Documentation Working Group is planning a remote sprint to improve content in the User Guide. Everyone is invited to participate! Experience editing our docs will be helpful but not required.

Time frame

We’ve chosen one 72-hour block for the sprint as follows. Mark your calendars, and join us for however much time you like during this window.

Time Zone   Start End
LA Wednesday, March 21 at 6 pm Saturday, March 24 at 6 pm
Denver Wednesday, March 21 at 7 pm Saturday, March 24 at 7 pm
Chicago Wednesday, March 21 at 8 pm Saturday, March 24 at 8 pm
NYC Wednesday, March 21 at 9 pm Saturday, March 24 at 9 pm
UTC Thursday, March 22 at 1 am   Sunday, March 25 at 1 am
London Thursday, March 22 at 1 am Sunday, March 25 at 2 am
Paris Thursday, March 22 at 2 am Sunday, March 25 at 3 am
Kolkata Thursday, March 22 at 6:30 am   Sunday, March 25 at 6:30 am
Sydney Thursday, March 22 at 12 noon   Sunday, March 25 at 12 noon
Auckland Thursday, March 22 at 2 pm Sunday, March 25 at 2 pm

How a “remote” sprint works

Remote means that we won’t be together physically, but many people will be working on improving the User Guide roughly at the same time.

We will be using GitHub tickets to organize our tasks — and all tickets slated for work during the sprint will be associated with the “2018 User Guide sprint” milestone in order to track our progress. Sean will be doing some work before the sprint to get these tickets organized. This also means that now is a great time to report new issues with the User Guide, because those to-do items might make it into the sprint!

When you’re ready to start sprinting:

  1. Pop into the Documentation channel in Mattermost and say hi.
  2. Check the GitHub milestone to see what tasks are up for grabs.
  3. If you have a specific idea of what you’d like to work on, feel free to create a new ticket for it if necessary.
  4. Once you’ve chosen a ticket, assign it to yourself (or, if you don’t have permission to assign it, then comment in the ticket that you’d like to claim it). If you’re a seasoned docs pro, make sure to leave the esasy tickets for newcomers!
  5. Get to work, and share your thoughts and progress with others in Mattermost.

Mentoring hours

We’ll also have several time slots scheduled within the sprint where experienced docs editors will be available to help others.

  • Good for people in US time zones
    • Thursday March 22nd 1 pm - 2 pm EDT (UTC-4) - Jon Goldberg
    • Friday March 22rd 1 pm - 2 pm EDT (UTC-4) - Sean Madsen
  • Good for people in UK/EU time zones
    • Thursday March 22nd from 12 noon - 1 pm UTC - Michael McAndrew
  • Good for people in AU/NZ time zones
    • Friday March 22nd from 10 am - 11 am AEDT (UTC+11) - Sean Madsen

During these times, documentation newcomers can join the Documentation channel in Mattermost and ask questions with the confidence that a mentor will be available to help.

(More time slots coming as well — to sign up, contact Sean Madsen.)

Questions?

Sean Madsen is organizing this sprint with help from the Documentation Working Group. If you have questions, feel free to ask in the Documentation channel in Mattermost or send a direct message to @seanmadsen.

When
March 22nd, 2018 1:00 AM   through   March 25th, 2018 1:00 AM