Core Team

The CiviCRM Core Team (“the Core Team”) is comprised of members of CiviCRM LLC and leaders of the infrastructure, security and product maintenance teams. Its central purposes are 1) production and maintenance of CiviCRM the software, 2) stewardship of the CiviCRM community and 2) management of the project’s financial and legal interests. It coordinates contributions from community users and developers, ensures that people have access to the infrastructure they need to work and communicate effectively, and provides leadership for the project. 

The Core Team is tasked with many ongoing efforts including release management, community management, PR review, overall project management, etc. When possible, it undertakes specific initiatives consistent with the mission and roadmap of CiviCRM. Click here for the most recent update on the current priorities of the Core Team.

Though the Core Team may play an active role in other aspects of the project not listed above, these are predominantly driven by the CiviCRM community itself via a working group structure and consistent with established community guidelines.


The Core Team is funded through member programs, grants, major donors and earned income, with funds flowing out to project groups as needed (and where possible).


Josh Gowans | CiviCRM LLC
Project Manager
josh@civicrm.org | @josh

Seamus Lee | JMA Consulting
Security Team Leader
seamus@civicrm.org | @seamuslee

Mathieu Lutfy | Coop SymbioTIC
Infrastructure Team Leader
mathieu@civicrm.org | @bgm

Eileen McNaughton
Maintenance Team Leader
eileen@civicrm.org | @eileen

Tim Otten | CiviCRM LLC
Software Architect
totten@civicrm.org | @totten

Coleman Watts | CiviCRM LLC
Senior Developer
coleman@civicrm.org | @coleman

About CiviCRM LLC

CiviCRM LLC operates as a not-for-profit organization, is incorporated in the United States and is focused on producing the core software, ensuring the continuity of the project’s operation, protecting the project’s trademarks, and codebase, and addressing all legal and financial matters. As a company, CiviCRM LLC is ‘manager-managed’, meaning that it is overseen and governed by individuals designated as managers in CiviCRM LLC's operating agreement.

CiviCRM LLC is currently managed by Josh Gowans, Mathieu Lutfy, Tim Otten and Coleman Watts. Its legal members are Josh Gowans, Tim Otten and Coleman Watts.